On Soup.

I know, I know, I’m probably the only fool person on the planet (other than my deeply revered friend KK) that is longing for the long summer days to come to their annual close. Don’t get me wrong, I love (love, love, love) the endless produce, the few extra hours of sunlight, reasons to vacation, etc etc….. but I love every other season so much more. I’m a comfort girl after all. I love putting on woolen socks, sitting by the fire, baking inside whilst the fog lingers outside; and thus, i love the welcoming of fall. Become, yes, of its colors, and the pumpkin, but frankly because it is getting that much closer to Christmas and Hanukkah season. And to me this means the Nutcracker ballet, cookie parties, and funny times with family. I just love it.

le soup

So, I just couldn’t wait until summer was over to make my first soup to welcome the new fall season. Maybe I was thinking if I made it, it would tantalize fall to come out beneath its covers for a serving or two just a bit earlier. But anyways, back to soup.  J’adore le soup. A good soup to me is hearty, yet healthy, and can be enjoyed warm with bread by its side. Another lovely point for le soup… it beckons the call of good bread. Not the same stuff that a good PB&J might call for, but something heartier, something (dare I say) better made. So here I give you… one amazing soup….

 

Curried Split Pea Soup

serves 4 lucky people

 

2 tablespoons unrefined coconut oil

1 chopped onion

2 chopped carrots

1 tablespoon minced garlic

12 ounces green peas

5 cups water, or vegetable broth

1 tablespoon curry powder

zest of 1/2 lemon

2 tablespoons coconut milk, optional

salt and pepper to taste

Place a soup pot on the stove and turn heat to medium/high. When the oil has melted and is fairly hot, add the chopped onions and let saute for 1-2 minutes. Let the carrots join the soupmaking and continue cooking until onions become translucent. Then goes the minced garlic for about a minute or so. Just watch it carefully so it poor things don’t burn.

After preparing your base, add the split peas, water, curry, lemon zest, and coconut milk(if using) to the pot. Bring the pot to a boil and then reduce it to simmer with the lid on for about 30-45 minutes. The soup is ready when the split peas are very tender and are mushy in texture. Season with salt and fresh pepper. Take an immersion stick blender or transfer the soup into a blender and puree the mixture until very smooth. Serve warm with delicious, hearty bread.

What is your favorite thing about the transitioning seasons?

2 thoughts on “On Soup.

Leave a Reply

